The committee’s mandate is to make decisions and provide advice to Council on matters related to land use planning and development, including but not limited to development proposals, Municipal Plan Amendments, Zoning By-law Amendments, Subdivision Applications, Temporary Use Permits, Variances, and Building. The committee also contributes to exercises relating to long range planning which assist Council and staff in managing growth in a manner consistent with the Municipal Plan and Zoning By-law, as adopted by Village of New Maryland Council in 2006.

The responsibilities of this committee are set out in the “Policy on Procedure and Protocol for the Village of New Maryland Planning Advisory Committee”.


Through the authority granted in the New Brunswick Community Planning Act, the PAC of the Village of New Maryland is appointed by the Village Council. PAC consists of one (1) Village Councillor and five (5) local citizens. The Development Officer and Recording Secretary have a voice but are non-voting members of the Committee. The committee chair is an appointed position filled by a local resident.

Meeting Schedule

Current Agenda

The Planning Advisory Committee holds its regular monthly meetings on the first Monday of each month. If Monday is a holiday, the meeting is held on the following Monday. Meetings commence at 7:00pm and are held in the Council Chamber at the Village Office, 584 New Maryland Highway.

Application Deadline Meeting Dates*
Monday, December 16, 2019 Monday, January 06, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Monday, February 03, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020 Monday, March 02, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020 Monday, April 06, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 Monday, May 04, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020 Monday, June 01, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020 Monday, July 06, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 Monday, August 10, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020 Monday, September 14, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 Monday, October 05, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020 Monday, November 02, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020 Monday, December 07, 2020
*Please note: meeting dates and location are subject to change

Committee Chairs

Planning Advisory Committee Chair – Julie Clarke

Vice-Chair – Deputy Mayor Alex Scholten

Committee Members

Village Residents: Debra Connors, Sam McEwan, Sébastien Roy, Robin Chaplin

Village Staff: Rob Pero, Building Inspector/Development Officer; Kyle Arseneault, Assistant Building Inspector/Development Officer; and Lisa Steeves, Recording Secretary

Application Forms

Click on the form below you wish to view: